Retention / Variation of Local Property Tax Rate 2016

Closed 18 Aug 2015

Opened 23 Jun 2015


The Finance (Local Property Tax) Act 2012 (as amended), makes specific provision that elected members of a local authority may pass a formal resolution to vary the basic rate of the Local Property Tax for their administrative area by a percentage known as the local adjustment factor.

This means that Dún Laoghaire-Rathdown County Council can increase or decrease the basic rate of the Local Property Tax within the County by a maximum of +/-15% or leave it unaltered.

At the meeting of Dún Laoghaire–Rathdown County Council held on the 22nd September 2014 to consider this matter the members agreed to reduce the basic rate of local property tax applicable within the County by 15%. This reduction applies for a period of one year from the 1st November 2014 (liability date) to the 31st October 2015 and the 2015 local property tax charge payable by property owners within the County reflected this reduction. The Local Property Tax rate reverts back to its original basic rate on the 1st November unless a further decision is made by the elected members to retain the existing variation or apply an alternative variation.


Why your views matter

The Council will meet in September 2015 to consider the setting of a local adjustment factor for the year 2016. Members must decide whether to retain the variation agreed in 2014, agree an alternative variation or apply no variation.

The options available to the elected members for 2016 are (1) Retain the existing level of reduction of -15%. (2) Increase the rate between 1-15% towards the basic rate of 0.18% of the value of the property. (3) Increase the rate between 1-15% above the basic rate of 0.18% of the value of the property.

The Council welcomes submissions from the public on this matter specifically covering the potential effects of retaining the existing variation, or applying an alternative or no variation, on businesses, individuals and on local authority services.


  • All Areas


  • Property Owners


  • Council Finances