Carysfort Avenue Cycle Route Options

Closed 27 Feb 2020

Opened 30 Jan 2020


Dún Laoghaire-Rathdown County Council is seeking to introduce a cycle route on Carysfort Avenue from Stillorgan Park Road to Convent Road. In advance of preparing  a scheme design, a non-statutory pre-scheme public consultation is being undertaken by Dún Laoghaire-Rathdown County Council on five possible route options. This consultation is in the form of an online survey.

Scheme Details:

Carysfort Avenue a regional road linking Stillorgan Park Road to Blackrock with a number of key destinations along the route including All Saints National School, Carysfort Park, Carysfort National School, UCD Smurfit Business School and Blackrock Business Park. Five possible options for cycle tracks on Carysfort Avenue between Stillorgan Park Road and Convent Road have been identified, using the area within the existing road layout, i.e. kerb to kerb.  It is intended that the cycle tracks will be segregated from the road for each cycle track option using ‘Light Segregation’.

Why We Are Consulting

The Council are seeking views from the public on five scheme options to help inform the scheme design. Interested parties are requested to complete an online survey on the scheme and to clearly outline what is their preferred option.  The public consultation will run for 4 weeks from 30 January 2020 to 27 February 2020. The scheme options will also be available for viewing on the Council’s website-

What Happens Next

Submissions and observations can be made in writing to –

The Senior Engineer,

Traffic & Road Safety Section,

Municipal Services Department,

Dún Laoghaire–Rathdown County Council,

County Hall,

Marine Road,

Dún Laoghaire,

County Dublin.

or via e-mail to or by logging onto 

Submissions and observations should be clearly marked ‘Carysfort Avenue Cycle Route Options'.

The closing date for receipt of submissions is Thursday 27 February 2020.


  • Blackrock Electoral Area
  • Dun Laoghaire Electoral Area
  • Stillorgan Electoral Area


  • All residents


  • Road Safety
  • Cycling
  • Smarter Travel
  • Traffic Management
  • Road Network